How to Get a Motorcycle License in Maryland
By Cohen & Dwin, P.A. on April 5, 2023 | In Motorcycle Accidents
Everyone must obtain the required license before operating a motor vehicle, including motorcyclists. The requirements for a motorcycle license in Maryland depend on your age, current licensing, and whether you previously had a motorcycle license in the state.
What Is Required to Get a Motorcycle License in Maryland?
You must meet multiple requirements to obtain a motorcycle license in Maryland, including:
- Be at least 16 ½ years old
- Complete a driver education course, if you have not done so previously
- Pass a written test
- Take a road test
- Comply with Maryland’s graduated licensing system
- Practice with a learner’s permit
- Pay the required fees
You must complete the Motorcycle Safety Program Basic Rider Course if you are under 18. Anyone 18 or older can take a safety course to bypass these requirements:
- Pass a knowledge test
- Obtain a learner’s permit
- Take the skills test if adding a Class M endorsement to a state driver’s license
If you already have a driver’s license issued in Maryland and have completed a Motorcycle Safety Program, you can add a motorcycle endorsement to your license by presenting your certificate to a Motor Vehicle Administration office.
You can transfer an out-of-state motorcycle license or endorsement if it is current or expired less than one year ago. You must meet the vision requirements but don’t have to take a skills or knowledge test.
Anyone new to driving must complete a course regardless of their age.
How Long Does It Take to Get a Motorcycle License in Maryland?
It depends. The Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Administration should mail your license within four to seven business days of paying the required fees. However, the time to obtain the license depends on the training and tests you must take.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Motorcycle License in Maryland?
The Maryland motorcycle licensing fees depend on your age and the length of licensing. If you are under 21, you must pay $9 for each year of holding a valid license. Those 21 and older must pay $9 for every year of a valid license, up to $72.
How Hard Is the Maryland Motorcycle Permit Test?
The test should not be that challenging if you study.
Can You Get a Motorcycle License Without a Driver’s License in Maryland?
Yes. Class M licenses are distinct from other driver’s licenses in Maryland. However, you can also get a Class M endorsement on your standard Class C license.
Our Lawyers Help Motorcyclists Injured in Maryland
Accidents happen, even to those who have the proper licensing and experience riding a motorcycle. And when they do, accident victims can turn to the team at Cohen & Dwin, P.A., for help. Our lawyers have over 100 years of combined legal experience and can protect your rights and aggressively seek compensation from the person responsible for your injury.
If you were hurt in a motorcycle accident caused by someone else’s negligence, call or contact us online today for a free consultation.
Cohen & Dwin, P.A. is a law firm in Owings Mills, Maryland. Our attorneys are experienced in handling cases related to personal injury, car accidents, truck accidents, criminal law, DWI, work injury, and more. Our firm assists clients in Owings Mills and surrounding areas. Contact us today for a free no-risk consultation.